James Reveals his Album Cover & a Studio Session with Mick Mars

And here folks is the official album cover for James’ debut album which will be released on November 21st!

Where do I begin!? This CD has to stand out  from lots of other new releases on that day and it will. The font is eye catching, James’ demeanor & expression is intriguing and the album title is thought provoking. Hands down the BEST debut album cover of an Idol alum ever! Major kudos to the photographer & graphic artist. And even more interesting is that genre isn’t made obvious at all; the general music buyers who have never heard of James (who are the majority) will pick this up, wonder what it sounds like and will have to actually listen to it to find out. Very clever marketing ploy by Wind-up Records, and is it just me or does anyone else get a Twilight/Vampire Diaries take on this design? Not suggesting that James is necessarily being marketed to Twilight/Vampire Diaries crazy teens but they’re one group I can see being drawn to this cover (Robert Pattinson eat your heart out!). That age group is the most lucrative demographic, and I imagine that James’ music would be suitable to be featured on those type of shows or on horror movie soundtracks.

And if that’s not enough, James has given us a sneak peak of his studio recording session with Mick Mars of Motley Crue! All I can say is that this guitar riff is to die for and I cannot wait to hear the entire song!

I believe we can expect his debut single to be released within the next 3 weeks. I can’t yet predict how well James’ album will do but save to say, with Marti Frederickson & James Michael being the main songwriters & Howard Benson producing, it’s not impossible for Memories of a Beautiful Disaster to be a smash hit.

3 thoughts on “James Reveals his Album Cover & a Studio Session with Mick Mars

  1. I thought the same thing when I saw the cover, edgy but not scary, soulful and heartachingly beautiful (but James doesn’t know any other way of being), and completely intriguing. And the little snippet of Mick Mars playing? OMG! Heaven! I haven’t heard good music like that in a long time. Halfway through October, and it’s going too slow!

  2. Sooo excited to be able to get James’ debut album in just a few more weeks and hear the kind of music HE has been wanting to bring to his fans!!!!! Loved him on the AI tour and can’t wait for his new album to “Give Metal A Chance”!! I love James Durbin!!!!!

  3. I am sooooooooooooo addicted to this MF kickass guitar riff! Mick is one of my favourite guitarists cause his style is so distinctive. This beats Slash’s riffs on What I Want, Slash totally held back on that track, it wasn’t anywhere near what he’s capable of, it sounded so generic. James made an excellent choice, I am dying to get my hands on this record!

Leave a Reply

